Subscription Box Sunday: Birchbox lip products and Ipsy lipstick and perfume

imageimage_1

Bonjour!

In this weeks SBS post, I’m going to review the two lip balms I got in my Birchbox and the lipstick and perfume in my Ipsy bag. I figured this would really just be a lip products review considering I’ve reviewed the perfume before.

So let’s get started!

First up, the perfume.

image_4

This is the Harvey Prince Hello perfume. Rather than go through a full review of this, click here to read the review I’ve already done. Yay!

Now to the lips!

image_7

This is the Hikari Lipstick in Cabernet. It’s a very pretty rich red wine color and retails for $13.

Here’s a close up of the color.

image_8

It does have a pinky tone to it, but it is more red in real life.

What I liked: It has great color pay off. It’s very pigmented, but can be sheer. It’s not a creamy formula so it can be layered for a richer color. It’s a great fall color. It also lasts a long time on the lips.

What I didn’t: It’s too pink to be a red. When I want a red, I want a red. Not a fuchsia. This has too much pink in it for my tastes.

Next:

image_9

This is the Pixi Shea Butter Lip Balm. It’s very affordable at $8. I got the Honey Nectar shade, which is a nude and looks like the color of the packaging.

What I liked: It’s so smooth and made my lips feel like butter! It was very moisturizing and for a balm, had great color pay off.

What I didn’t: The color just didn’t work for me. It made me look so washed out even with my eyes done up and blush on. It just made me look a bit dead. I do plan on trying other colors though.

Lastly:

image_6

This is the Chapstick Hydration Lock Day and Night. It’s even more affordable at $2.99. The day side is moisture plus SPF 12 and the night side has extra moisture to restore lips overnight.

What I liked: Both sides are very smooth and moisturizing. I also love the citrus scent of the night side. I like that the day side has SPF so that I can wear it under lipsticks for the fall because you should still be protecting your skin (including lips) in the cooler months. It also soaks in very nicely so I can put it on before I do the rest of my face and by the time I’m to lips, it’s good and soaked in.

What I didn’t: The blah scent of the day side. That’s probably all I don’t like about this chapstick. It’s definitely something I’ll repurchase and keep in my collection.

Well lovelies, that’s it for this week’s SBS. Do you use any of these products? What do you think? Comment below!

xoxo,

Erica

What do you think? Comment down below.